#SFD Soooo Why now?

I’m probably long overdue for any kind of an official “blog” and I’m honestly semi-dreading the project it will be to sort through all of my social media posts since 2020 and sort through the “noise” to really bring in what is most important to share as I try to capture my journey with ocular melanoma. But here we are.

If you’re reading this page, learning about this blog, I hope you’re just here as a witness to my story, and not because you too, are one of the 6 in a million people diagnosed with ocular melanoma.

But if you are, allow me to give you a special mantra to focus in on when the days are hard.

#SFD It literally means “hashtag shit, fuck, damn.” Cuz with this cancer, sometimes that’s the ONLY response you have to…whatever new curve ball you’re navigating.

I’m now 2+ years into my diagnosis with ocular melanoma. I’ve cried, screamed, laughed, peed my pants, been in denial, and really all around LIVED more than I ever have in all my years prior to a rare cancer diagnosis.

I am sharing this blog in an effort to capture my cancer story more completely, to piece together the glimpses into my world and mental and emotional processing that I’ve shared and will continue to share on social media.

If you’re here for the ride, I hope I can inspire you to trust in your own resiliency. To be your own advocate. And most of all, be rebellious in just how much hope you cast out to the universe.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started